

News Release

For Immediate Release

2015 Time to Quit contest winners announced

IQALUIT, Nunavut (June 5, 2015) – The Department of Health is pleased to announce the winners of the 2015 Time to Quit contest.

Grand prize winners and quit buddies for the Baffin region are: Sean MacIntosh, Shawn Balfour, quit buddy; Laura-Jeannie Gibbons, Mavis Panipakuchoo, quit buddy. Kivalliq region: Catherine Aggark, Debra Taipana, quit buddy. Kitikmeot region: Marc Auger, Robyn Clarke, quit buddy.

"It gives me great pleasure to congratulate all Time to Quit contest participants and winners on behalf of the Tobacco Has No Place Here team and the Department of Health. I also offer congratulations to everyone who quit or attempted to quit," said Minister of Health Paul Okalik. "Tobacco use is not part of our land or of our Inuit culture. Unfortunately it is now wide spread in Nunavut. By supporting family members and friends, we will succeed in the fight against tobacco and the negative health outcomes of its use."

Prizes included four \$5,000 grand prize travel packages and 12 Apple iPad Airs for secondary winners. Quit buddies, who stayed tobacco-free for the month of March, were eligible to win \$50 iTunes gift cards. Grand prize winners were tested with monitors at their local health centre, to measure the amount of carbon monoxide in their system and to verify their tobacco-free status.

The 2015 Time to Quit contest was open to Nunavummiut who use tobacco or those who had quit within 60 days of March 1, 2015. In addition to requiring that participants have a quit buddy to support them, this year's participants were offered a free two-week supply of nicotine replacement therapy (gum or patch) from their local health centre and a counselling call from the NU QuitLine. A total of 115 participants requested quit support through the NU QuitLine, and 30 of the 115 still receive regular phone counselling.

Between participants and quit buddies, more than 1,100 Nunavut residences committed to stay tobacco-free for the month of March!

###

NOTE TO MEDIA: A complete list of grand prize and secondary prize winners is attached.

Media Contact:

Ron Wassink A/Manager, Communications and Public Relations Department of Health 867-975-5710 rwassink@gov.nu.ca



Time to Quit contest winners

Baffin region		
Contest winners	Quit buddies	
Grand prize – Sean MacIntosh	Shawn Balfour	
Grand prize – Laura-Jeannie Gibbons	Mavis Panipakuchoo	
Secondary prize – Lorna Alookie	Angie Alookie	
Secondary prize – Aleeasuk Idlout	Debbie Iqaluk	
Secondary prize – Tommy Angnakak	Eeta Angnakak	
Secondary prize – Seporah Medwig	Matthew Illaszewicz	
Secondary prize – Joe Iyerak	Thoretta lyerak	
Secondary prize – Meghan Mike-Murphy	Corey Alivaktuk	

Kivalliq region	
Contest winners	Quit buddies
Grand prize – Catherine Aggark	Debra Taipana
Secondary prize – Denise Kusugak	Tuuti Autut
Secondary prize – Kristy-Lise Gibbons	Patrick Sulurayok
Secondary prize – Bridgette Tattuinee	Peter Jr Aulatjut

Kitikmeot region		
Contest winners	Quit buddies	
Grand prize – Marc Auger	Robyn Clarke	
Secondary prize – Lucy Tulurialik	Christine Ogruk	
Secondary prize – Rosie Nuliayok	Angela Nuliayok	
Secondary prize – Sally Takolik	Martha Quqqiaq	